Home > InstallShield > InstallShield Build Error 5037

InstallShield Build Error 5037

I got the “build error 5037” few weeks ago while creating the install set for a .Net application. The next time I faced the same problem I just wished if I wrote the solution somewhere in the first time as the installshield online help is not helpful at all in this case.

It explain the cause of this problem as

  • An incorrect Directory location is specified in the Component Table.
  • Invalid entries exist in the Directory table.
  • MDAC 2.5 Proxy Merge Module is included in the project.

 

I could not find any of this problems in the InstallShield file, so I started testing different things and doing trial and error. The result was surprising; it seems existence of CrystalDecisions in the build folder (output folder), where other files are added to the installshield project,  causes this problem. The reason can be Crystal Embedded Redistributable package in the ISM file.

image

 

But I found I just need to remove following CrystalDecisions files from the build folder to not getting the Build Error:

CrystalDecisions.ReportAppServer.DataSetConversion.dll
CrystalDecisions.CrystalReports.Engine.dll
CrystalDecisions.Shared.dll

 

These files are copied by Visual Studio to the Debug or Release folder; however, they are not needed as CR_NET_EmbededReporting is allready added to the install set.

The other comment: I do not recommend trial and error as a appropriate approach for fixing problems, but this case happened to me twice, so there is a benefit of documenting the solution as there is a chance to facing this problem at least in my build environment.

Categories: InstallShield
  1. December 3, 2010 at 11:28 am

    One of the more impressive blogs Ive seen. Thanks so much for keeping the internet classy for a change. Youve got style, class, bravado. I mean it. Please keep it up because without the internet is definitely lacking in intelligence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment